It’s Not For Me

In my reading and studying of Ephesians for our Small Group discussions coming up, I noticed a noteworthy and even peculiar phrase in chapter 3 verse 2. Paul says that the Gospel that was given to him was part of the “stewardship” of God’s grace.

When I read that word, “stewardship,” I think of two angles.

First, God stewarded or administered his grace to Paul (and to us and everyone else who has been given the Gospel). The KJV uses the word “dispensation” here, but while that was confusing at first read, it is referring to the dispensing of God’s grace as if it is a product or commodity in God’s economy. This is a real cool thought because it reminds us that God is not frivolous or wasteful or nonchalant in his dispensing of the truth to us. Instead it is a great act of the “immeasurable riches” of his grace and it displays his boundless love when we remember how underserving we are.

The word “stewardship” makes me think of another angle also. The same God who administered and dispensed his grace to me expects me to administer and dispense that grace to others by sharing the Gospel with them. How do I know that? Look what Paul says in the rest of that verse and phrase in verse 2: “the stewardship of God’s grace that was given to me FOR YOU” (emphasis added by me).

Did you catch that? That means that the Gospel given to Paul wasn’t just for him, it was for him to share with the Gentiles. And by extension, that means that the Gospel that God has shared with me out of his kind and loving heart isn’t just for me (although it made a huge difference in my life and is wonderful) – it is also for me to give to you and anyone else I possibly can.

This begs the question: am I being selfish with the Gospel? Have I hoarded God’s grace? Have I received it and benefited from it, but then set it on a “shelf” to be admired and appreciated by me… but that’s it? Have I been given the location of the fountain of youth and yet kept it to myself?

Or do I see my position in God’s kingdom as a vessel and mediator for the Gospel to continue going out to others?

This reminds me of how Paul told Timothy in 2 Timothy 2:2 that “what you have heard from me in the presence of many witnesses entrust to faithful men, who will be able to teach others also.“

Think about this: for Paul to be miraculously and uniquely saved by “revelation” from Jesus himself (Eph. 3:3) on the road to Damascus (Acts 9) is amazing. But that is not why the Gospel spread like wildfire and churches were planted, disciples were made, and pastors (like Timothy) were trained across the ancient Eastern world. That all happened because Paul took what he had been given and gave it freely to others.

Then Timothy did the same.

Then Timothy’s students did the same.

And this continued on and on, unhindered by the “gates of hell” as Jesus promised and eventually someone told us. Maybe it was our parents at home, maybe it was a preacher in a church service, maybe it was a friend at work, or maybe it was even a stranger – but if we are a Christian that means that we received in faith what had been given to us in grace.

And why did God graciously entrust it to us? So we could give it to others!

This is why Jesus told his disciples early on in Matthew 10:8 (NLT) to “give as freely as you have been given.”

So it’s not just for me – and it’s not just for you either (at least not now). It’s for whoever God has placed in your life who does not know him. So friend – give the Gospel away!

Leave a comment